Continuing Meditation

image

Hello everyone! If you read my recent post Beginning Meditation, you know that I recently decided to start doing mantra meditation. I’ve been doing it for about 2 weeks now and I should let you know, its HARD. I figured that mantra meditation would be a very easy form of meditation because rather than clearing your mind you are actually focusing on something. But I was wrong!

Sure I can repeat the same phrase over and over again 108 times easily. But the hard part is focusing on what you are saying. If you don’t pay attention to your mantra then you are not actually meditating! I have been doing my meditation right before I go to sleep and I noticed that while I was repeating my mantra, my mind was continuously wandering and thinking about other things. Because I am repeating the same thing over and over there isn’t a lot to focus on so I had to keep bringing back my attention to my mantra. Trying to stop all my thinking while my mantra was being repeated in the background like a broken record is definitely the hardest part of meditation.

I would really like to get all the benefits I can out of meditating so each time I do I try to improve my meditation habits. One thing that I found helped me focus on my mantra was to pay attention to the words I am saying out loud. Focusing on the pronunciation of the mantra gave me something to think about so I didn’t lost in other thoughts. Also, I tried saying the mantra out loud and in my head at the same time. Although my mind still is wandering, little adjustments like these really help to keep your focus where it should be. The last thing that really helped me focus was to take some deep breaths before I begin meditating. Before I begin, I try to calm down my mind and let go of whatever I am thinking about. I make a little agreement with myself that I will have plenty of time to think and let my mind wander after I am done with my daily meditation.

So far, I am really enjoying the meditation experience. Sometimes I am really tired and I don’t want to meditate, but I have found that I am a little more relaxed once I do it so I have been falling asleep a little faster. At this point, I wouldn’t call myself a professional, or even someone who can successfully meditate, but I definitely think I am getting there! If I keep working on it, soon meditation will be easy

 

Leave a Reply

